Becoming a ‘local’ in Nashville

During my first semester here at Lipscomb, I took a crash course in Nashville for my freshman seminar class called “Becoming a Local.” We discussed the general importance of community and studied specific locations and ideas that make Nashville the city that it is.

 For me, “Becoming a Local” has become much more than just a class. It is a constant process of learning and growing within the community that I am building a new home in every single day. It means discovering hole-in-the-wall restaurants with the best food you didn’t know existed. It means following the sports and entertainment industries here. It means being actively involved, serving others and giving back.

I don’t really think I’ll ever sit back one day and think, “Wow. I really know everything there is to know about this city. I’m officially a ‘local’ now.” There’s just too much to explore for that (and after six months I still can only drive myself to church and Taco Bell without a GPS). I have an ever-expanding list of things to do and see here, and I’m just beginning to scratch the surface.

My Nashville Bucket List:

Go to a show at the Grand Ole Opry – check!

Sarah Darling performs at the Opry's 88th Birthday celebration concert.

Sarah Darling performs at the Opry’s 88th Birthday celebration concert.

Go to a Nashville Sounds game – check!

sounds

Eat at the Loveless Café – check!

two times

Find a church home – check!

Ethos Church held downtown at Cannery Row.

Go swing dancing at Centennial Park – check!

swing

Explore as many local coffee shops as possible

J&J's Marketplace is one of my favorites! The Well is awesome also.

J&J’s Marketplace is one of my favorites!

Go to a concert at the Ryman Auditorium

historic

Run into a celebrity in public

It was great to see Dierks Bentley in concert for free with Jake Owen, and knowing that many stars live around here, it would be really cool to just bump into one at the grocery store!

Go to a Titans game

i've been to the practice field

Visit the Parthenon

parthenon

Eat at the Bluebird Café

historic

Go to a Predators hockey game – check!

IMG_9985

Spend an alcohol-less night downtown with friends belting it out at karaoke and listening to local musicians

I'd love to go downtown

Serve and eat with the homeless (Photo credit: Janie Lynn Lankford)

roommate

See Nashville from the highest level of the “Batman Building”

The AT&T building, commonly referred to as the "Batman Building," is the tallest building in Tenn. I think it would be awesome to take in the view from the top floor of this iconic structure.

What’s your favorite item on my list? Is there anything I left off that you love to do around Nashville? Let me know your suggestions in the comments!

One thought on “Becoming a ‘local’ in Nashville

  1. I really love this blog post. I have lived in Nashville my entire life, and there are many things on your blog that I haven’t even done. I would love to go to both the Bluebird Cafe and Loveless Cafe. I hear that they are phenomenal. I think that all these things are great. I would also add going to the new Music City Center because that is a wonderful addition to the downtown atmosphere. Fantastic job!

Leave a Reply

